The Mercury Theater
The Mercury Theater, located in the Southport Corridor, accommodates 290 people in a continental-style theater seating plan. There is no center aisle, but wide spacing between each row of seats to allow for ease of passage.
The building now housing the Mercury opened in 1912 as a silent film nickelodeon called the Blaine Theatre. In 1928, "talkies" had become popular and the Blaine became obsolete, so the much larger New Blaine (now the Music Box Theatre) was built. It is still in operation today a few doors down from the Mercury.
In 1994, Michael Cullen organized the purchase and renovation of the building and named it the Mercury Theater after Orson Welles' infamous "War of the Worlds" flick. Some remnants of the original Blaine were salvaged, including the decorative plaster busts flanking the house. The intimate theater also boasts warm exposed brick walls and seats that were recovered and refurbished from a 1933-era Boston movie house.